When the Moon Comes is IBBY Honour Book

By | News | No Comments

moon matt jamesWhen the Moon Comes, illustrated by Matt James and written by Paul Harbridge is an Elizabeth Mrazik-Cleaver Canadian Picture Book Award Honour Book!

The Jury commented:

“James’s illustrations are magnificent, an excellent marriage between bright and dark colours. He evocatively captures the sense of waiting for the perfect moment when the ice will finally be ready for that first hockey match on the pond.”

IBBY Canada’s Elizabeth Mrazik-Cleaver Picture Book Award, established in 1985, honours one of Canada’s pre-eminent book illustrators.

WCA Authors Selected for Dolly Parton’s Imagination Library

By | News | No Comments

Carson linda baileysquirrels nancy rosesadie o'learymoon matt jamesWe are delighted to share that four WCA authors have been chosen for Dolly Parton’s Imagination Library. Imagination Library books are specially selected age-appropriate, high-quality titles. These books are delivered to registered children each month from birth to age five. This effort creates a gifting experience making books exciting and shows the child someone is thinking of them.

Carson Crosses Canada by Linda Bailey

The Secret Life of Squirrels by Rose

This is Sadie by Sara O’Leary

When the Moon Comes by Paul Harbridge and illustrated by Matt James

Indian Horse Big Winner at Leo Awards

By | News | No Comments

Indian horse - wagameseThe film adaptation of Richard Wagamese’s Indian Horse was nominated in five categories of the 2018 Leo Awards and won in two categories! It was nominated for best motion picture, best director, best screenwriting, best picture editing, and best musical score. It won best visual effects and best sound.

Organised by the Motion Picture Arts & Sciences Foundation of British Columbia, the Leo Awards celebrate and promote the achievements of the British Columbia film and television industry.

Trevor Cole Wins 2018 Arthur Ellis Award

By | News | No Comments

cole whiskyCongratulations to Trevor Cole, whose book The Whisky King: The Remarkable True Story Of Canada’s Most Infamous Bootlegger And The Undercover Mountie on His Trail won the 2018 Arthur Ellis Award for Best Nonfiction Crime Book.

The Arthur Ellis Awards, established in 1984 and named after the nom de travail of Canada’s official hangman, are awarded annually by the Crime Writers of Canada.

Karolyn Smardz Frost Wins Speaker’s Book Award

By | News | No Comments

steal away frostCongrats to Karolyn Smardz Frost, whose compelling work of narrative non-fiction Steal Away Home: One Woman’s Epic Flight to Freedom – And Her Long Road Back to the South is the winner of the 2017 Speaker’s Book Award. The Honourable Dave Levac, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Ontario, made the announcement during a ceremony at the Ontario Legislature on March 5th, 2018. Steal Away Home will be featured at the Legislative Library, and available for purchase at the Legislative Assembly Gift Shop.

Kyo Maclear Receives the IODE Jean Throop Book Award

By | News | No Comments

yak and doveWe’re delighted to announce that Yak and Dove author Kyo Maclear has received the 2017 IODE Ontario Jean Throop Book Award. The award encourages excellence in Canadian children’s literature and is presented to an illustrator or author who resides in Ontario. Previous IODE Jean Throop Book Award winners include Dennis Lee, Barbara Reid, Kenneth Oppel, Chris Hadfield, and Terry and Eric Fan.

Markham Reads 2018: Kim Fu and Kyo Maclear

By | News | No Comments

9780385687515Fu - the lost girlsKyo Maclear’s Birds Art Life and Kim Fu’s The Lost Girls of Camp Forevermore are on the Markham Reads 2018 shortlist! Markham Reads is an annual celebration of books, ideas, and community. For the seventh year running, they’re encouraging everyone in Markham to connect with new ideas and with one another by reading the same book. Programs and events related to the winning book will take place in July and August 2018.