Healy, Nason and Quigley Longlisted for IMPAC

By | News | No Comments

Three WCA clients have been longlisted for the prestigious 2013 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award: Dermot Healy for Long Time, No See, Riel Nason for The Town that Drowned, and Sarah Quigley for The Conductor.

The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award is the largest and most international prize of its kind. It involves libraries from all corners of the globe, and is open to books written in any language. The shortlist will be announced in April.

For more information, please visit:

Fowler and Di Cintio Longlisted for BC Book Award

By | News | No Comments

The jury for the BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction, one of Canada’s largest literary non-fiction prizes, has released its longlist of finalists for 2013, and WCA is happy to report that Robert Fowler’s A Season in Hell: My 130 Days in the Sahara with Al Qaeda (HarperCollins) and Marcello Di Cinto’s Walls: Travels Along the Barricades (Goose Lane Editions) have been chosen .

One hundred and forty-three books were nominated for the $40,000 prize by 45 publishers from across the country. From that entry, the prize jury selected a longlist of ten books.

Hough and Onstad Longlisted for Scotiabank Giller Prize

By | News | No Comments

WCA is thrilled to have two authors longlisted for the 2012 Scotiabank Giller Prize: Robert Hough, for his novel Dr. Brinkley’s Tower, published by House of Anansi Press, and Katrina Onstad for her novel Everybody Has Everything, published by McClelland & Stewart/Emblem.

The Scotiabank Giller Prize is Canada’s most distinguished literary prize, awarding $50,000 annually to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English.

Hay, Itani, Fowler and Oliver up for Ottawa Book Awards

By | News | No Comments

WCA is happy to announce that four WCA clients have been nominated for Ottawa Book Awards. The Ottawa  book awards recognize the top English and French books published in the previous year. Congratulations Elizabeth Hay, Frances Itani, Robert Fowler and Craig Oliver!

Elizabeth Hay: Alone in the Classroom

Frances Itani: Requiem

Robert R. Fowler: A Season in Hell: My 130 Days in the Sahara with Al Qaeda

Craig Oliver: Oliver’s Twist: The Life and Times of an Unapologetic Newshound

Life of Pi to open New York Film Festival

By | News | No Comments

One of the biggest selling Canadian novels in history, Yann Martel’s Life of Pi, will have its movie debut at the New York Film Festival on September 28th.

Life of Pi stars newcomer Suraj Sharma as Pi Patel, a teenager who is stranded on a lifeboat with a Bengal tiger following the sinking of a ship carrying zoo animals.

Martel’s novel, published in 2001, won the 2002 Man Booker Prize.

Roy MacGregor wins the Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award

By | News | No Comments

WCA is thrilled to announce that Roy MacGregor has won the Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award, as this year’s print media honoree by the Hockey Hall of Fame. MacGregor was recognized for his graceful, eloquent storytelling over a career that has seen his writing appear in a long list of newspapers and magazines, including The Globe & Mail, the National Post, the Ottawa Citizen, the Toronto Star and Maclean’s magazine, and in many books, on topics from hockey to the mysterious death of artist Tom Thomson.

Erna Paris to receive WFM Canada World Peace Award

By | News | No Comments

Acclaimed Canadian author Erna Paris is the 2012 recipient of the WFM – Canada World Peace Award.

The award, to be presented July 12 in Winnipeg, recognizes an outstanding Canadian whose work advances awareness and action in support of a more peaceful future for humanity.

Paris ( is the author of seven books and the winner of ten national and international prizes.

The World Federalist Movement – Canada ( is a longstanding Canadian NGO dedicated to reforming global institutions and strengthening the rule of law in world affairs.

The World Peace Award has been presented annually or every second year since 1972. There have been 31 previous recipients, including most recently, Lloyd Axworthy, Louise Arbour, Philippe Kirsch, Roméo Dallaire, Ernie Regehr, Gerry Barr and Flora MacDonald.

Hamilton wins Ellis Award

By | News | No Comments

WCA is thrilled to announce that Ian Hamilton’s The Water Rat of Wanchai has won the 2012 Arthur Ellis Award for Best First Novel.

The Crime Writers of Canada’s citation of the novel follows:

Ian Hamilton’s The Water Rat of Wanchai is a smart, action-packed thriller of the first order, and Ava Lee, a gay Asian-Canadian forensics accountant with a razor-sharp mind and highly developed martial arts skills, is a protagonist to be reckoned with. We were impressed by Hamilton’s tight plotting; his well-rendered settings, from the glitz of Bangkok to the grit of Guyana; and his ability to portray a wide range of sharply individualized characters in clean but sophisticated prose.

For more information, please visit: